About Us


Education Austin is the labor union for certified and classified employees of the Austin Independent School District. Created in 1999 from the merger of the NEA-affiliated Austin Association of Teachers (AAT) and the AFT-affiliated Austin Federation of Teachers/Allied Education Workers (AFT/AEW).

Education Austin is the first merged local in Texas and is affiliated with the NEA, AFT, TSTA, Texas AFT, and the AFL-CIO. It is by far the largest organization for AISD employees.

Education Austin was elected as the consultation agent for AISD employees in 1999.  Education Austin was elected again by AISD employees as their  consultation agent in 2003 and 2007.

Education Austin’s full-time president is Ken Zarifis; its full-time vice-presidents are Montserrat Garibay (certified employees) and Trasell Underwood (classified employees); its secretary is Anna Valdez (Wooten Elementary) and its treasurer is Karen Barnes (Nelson Field/North Bus Terminal).
nea_web_0  National Education Association (NEA) is a National public education union founded in 1857 that currently has 2.7 million members and represents employees in public schools and in higher education. NEA’s President is Dennis Van Roekel.

TSTA png

Texas State Teachers Association (TSTA) is a Texas public education union created in 1880 and affiliated with the NEA. TSTA currently has about 65,000 members. TSTA’s President is Rita Haecker and Vice President is Noel Candelaria.


American Federation of Teachers (AFT) is a National public education union founded in 1916 that currently has over 1 million members and represents employees in public schools and higher education as well as nurses and public employees. AFT’s President is Randi Weingarten.


Texas AFT is a Texas public education union created in 1974 and affiliated with the AFT and the AFL-CIO. TFT currently has about 50,000 members. TFT’s President is Linda Bridges and Secretary-Treasurer is Louis Malfaro.


American Federation of Labor-Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) is the voluntary federation of America’s unions, representing more than 8 million working women and men nationwide. The AFL-CIO was formed in 1955 by the merger of the American Federation of Labor and the Congress of Industrial Organizations. The AFL-CIO’s President is Richard Trumka.

One comment

  1. Is it possible to rally to get the extra 12 minutes that were added to the Austin school day removed? We were under the impression that adding the 12 minutes would alleviate having bad weather make up days and that is not the case. We have those extra minutes and will still have to make up the bad weather days. This is just not fair!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *